Big life news

I’ve been quiet for a good while on here basically because it’s been all change since I last checked in in September… Last time we met, I was merrily sewing up door stops and cushion covers as part of getting our flat ready for sale. We had grand plans of buying a house in Walthamstow (market proximity was a plus) but that all came to a bit of an abrupt halt.

A few days before we were due to put the flat on the market Chris was sort of made redundant. I say sort of, because his company were shutting down their London office and moving operations to America. He had three options: find another role in the company in London, redundancy or move to Seattle with the job. We had a chat about it, went to visit Seattle for a week, decided we really liked it and opted to move out there! We’re currently in the middle of the visa process, and all things being equal, we expect to be flying out by the end of February. Sounds pretty intense, eh? You don’t know the half of it!

My being able to move to America with Chris and staying there legally is really dependent on us being married. So, Chris popped the question on our anniversary at the end of October and six weeks later we got hitched! It was always going to happen anyway, and I’m informed that he had the ring for several months before he proposed but this sped things up considerably. We decided to have a quick and quiet wedding in Merton registry office in London, with a buffet and drinks at his parents’ house afterwards – just immediate family and friends.

If the stress of organising a wedding in six weeks wasn’t enough, I decided to make my dress too! I was already doing the 1940s wrap dress class at Sew Over It anyway, so I thought why not just make that my wedding dress? It made sense to me – I had dedicated class time to get it done, I had fitting help and (most importantly) it took a massive headache out of finding THE dress. And the teacher, Dominique, didn’t freak out when I told her the occasion!

I managed to get most of it done in class time, with just hemming to do by the end of it which I did while Chris was on his stag weekend. I was really pleased with how it turned out – while some bits were quite fiddly (the neck line binding in particular), it came together quite nicely, which is pretty standard for Sew Over It patterns. It’s a good job too, since this is probably the most important dress I’ll ever wear!

The wedding itself was lovely, and despite my dad tripping down the stairs as he walked me down the aisle and a bit of a mix up with the rings, it all went smoothly. We couldn’t have done it without the help of our family and friends. Chris’ family really pulled out the stops and transformed their house for the day, and my bridesmaid Gillian was brilliant at being decisive, and listening to my rants about cake arrangements (that’s another, long, story). We’re both really happy and looking forward to new adventures!

Anyway, here’s some pictures!

vows

Vows

just-married

Just married. Prob the best view of the front of the dress that isn’t obscured by my bouquet

rings-and-flowers

Rings n’ flowers. I loved my bouquet – the florist got really excited that I was wearing lavender and not ‘Cadbury’s purple’. I think she’d seen a lot this year…

bridesmaids

Me and my bridesmaids, Anne and Gillian

confetti

Confetti: can’t speak for Chris, but it was so windy that not one bit of it landed on me!

car

Oh I felt so classy in that car! Here I am desperately trying to keep my dress closed in the breeze.

cutting-the-cake

toast

I love this photo – so much going on in the background.

photos

Getting papped.

10 thoughts on “Big life news

  1. over on kings drive says:

    Oh wow!! Firstly, congratulations on the wedding, you look lovely and it looks like a gorgeous occasion! Secondly, love the dress!! Gorgeous colour, fabric, and fit – Clearly the class worked out well! And as for moving to Seattle, I mean, wow! Icing on the cake or what?!? All the best for the move and this new exciting phase of your lives. Congratulations again!

    • Jo Laycock says:

      Thanks! Under other circumstances I don’t think I would have made my dress, but it all seemed to fall into place with the class and everything. So useful having fitting help on hand!!

  2. Naomi says:

    Congratulations on marrying your lovely man. That’s the best part of all isn’t it?! And top marks for your dress. You will look back on these photos with pride for the rest of your life! And a move… Gosh! It’s been a big 3 months hasn’t it?! Good luck with it all and don’t forget to take the time to stop, take a breath, and enjoy it all. There will be moments of stress for sure, but a huge and exciting adventure awaits.

    • Jo Laycock says:

      Thanks Naomi, it’s already a bit of an adventure! When we get over there I won’t be able to work immediately (need to get a work permit) so I’ll have at least a month to get over the move! Gonna be tough having an enforced holiday, but I’m sure I’ll get over it 🙂

  3. Caroline says:

    First of all CONGRATULATIONS on getting married and I am so impressed you made your beautiful lavender wrap dress. You look absolutely beautiful!
    Secondly – how exciting that you are moving to the States. I lived in NYC for a number of years in the 1990’s and absolutely loved every minute of it so I hope you have a blast! I’ve heard Seattle gets quite a bit of rain so it will be just like home! I am looking forward to your state-side posts.
    I bet your guide troop are gutted to see you go – will you get involved in an American guide group?

    • Jo Laycock says:

      Thanks Caroline! Both of us are itching to get on the plane now – aside from living abroad we’re both really looking forward to exploring everything the States has to offer, and NYC is definitely on the list. Any tips?

      I actually left my Guide unit in July as I was expecting to be living in Walthamstow by now. That didn’t quite turn out as planned!! I’d love to give Girl Scouts a go, but I suspect there’ll be more hoops to jump through as a foreign national wanting to volunteer with kids… Will keep you posted!

Leave a comment