2013: the year of the baby

In my last post I said I’d write about what I’ve been making over the last year. Here’s the crochet instalment, which has been sitting in draft format for several weeks. Must get better at actually posting what I’ve written…

As I made my list of stuff I have made in the last year, I realised that much of it was for small people. My best friend Gillian had Anne in July, while Chris’ sister had Izzie in August. Cue much crochet. I may have said this before but I was delighted to hear that both would be having girls as all the baby crochet books I have feature much, much nicer patterns for girls than boys. Since the designs tend to be a bit lacier, they’re more interesting and they’re more of a challenge so it gives me a chance to stretch myself a bit. Baby crochet also suits my attention span a bit better – the clothes are so teeny tiny that they crochet up really quickly and you can complete most projects within a week (or a day if you’re feeling dedicated). I have looked at making adult clothes in crochet, but so far have been uninspired by some of the horrible, boxy “delights” that you see in books. More research required I think.

Anyway, back to the original point of my post. All of the following projects are from Little Crochet by Linda Permann – a recommended book with many wearable patterns.

The first one was the Sunshine Blanket (more on that in a previous post here) for the arrival of Anne. This was a dream to crochet. Both the pattern and the yarn were easy to work with and it turned out much better than expected. I was just a bit annoyed that Anne turned up in the middle of a heat wave and so couldn’t test it out. Pah.

Finished Sunshine baby blanket

After that came the Swingset Cardigan, which I made for both Anne and Izzie. This was my first attempt at clothing of any size, but I was really pleased with the way they turned out. I used Debbie Bliss Cashmerino DK for them in a dark pink as I was going for girly, but not sickly sweet girly. Again, they crocheted up really nicely, though I was a bit confused by the construction at first because you work the body of the cardigan from the top down, so I was left wondering how it would turn out. It soon became clear though and it looks really impressive, even though the pattern itself isn’t that difficult.


2013-05-28 23.28.10

Then I turned my hand to the Sweet Daisy Sundress for Izzie. I wasn’t so struck on the pattern for this though it seemed to turn out well enough. Perhaps it was because it was the smallest size and designed to fit a newborn, but it looked much nicer in the photos! One thing I did love about this project was the yarn. It was a hand painted 4-ply yarn from Fivemoons which I picked up at the Knitting & Stitching Show. I love the way the colour varies throughout the garment so it ends up looking quite inky in places. Lovely.

Photo 02-08-2013 20 26 36

Finally I made the Ribbed Cardigan for Anne for Christmas. I was intending that this one would be something for her to grow into – she is growing at a rate of knots and was already in 6 – 9 month clothes at five months, so I made the 6 – 12 month size. For once, I was really careful with my gauge and made sure that I measured every piece as I went along, and do you know what? I was spot on (hi five me!)! I did a good chunk of this one on my commute as the individual pieces are very portable. They also worked up quite quickly though I kept having to unravel my work when I forgot to crochet into the back loop to make the ribbing. Despite my concerns about the size, it seems to fit Anne pretty well so she’ll  be nice and toasty throughout the winter!

2013-12-08 11.20.39-2

So that’s all the baby stuff I’ve been making this year… at some point I’ll do something on the sewing projects I’ve been doing! Bet you’re dead excited!!

2 thoughts on “2013: the year of the baby

Leave a Reply

