Slowalong…

zinnia skirt

This is version 2 – the one that I want to make. With pleats and belt loops and an invisible zip! From Colette Patterns.

Has anyone else been doing the Stitchery Studio’s Zinnia skirt sewalong? I wanted to do it because I’ve had the pattern for ages but never actually managed/bothered to do anything with it. When I saw that the Stitchery Studio was running a sewalong I thought I’d found the impetus to final get it made. I signed up for email updates and was hoping to get some top tips on making my Zinnia look good, fit perfectly and lose my fear of inserting invisible zips and button holes.

However, it’s now 11 days since the Stitchery’s last post and I’m starting to wonder if it’s died a death before it’s even got going. Over the two posts so far there’s been a lot of useful info about preparation, e.g. taking your measurements and fabric choice. Now I’m itching to get sewing!

I’ve contacted the Stitchery Studio to find out if there’s a schedule for posts as I think I’d benefit from the extra advice a sewalong adds to the pattern instructions (I still class myself as v much a beginner when it comes to dressmaking). I got an out of office reply to say that they’re closed this week. It doesn’t look like there’ll be a new post anytime soon, so in the meantime I’m going to tentatively make a start. I’ve assembled the pattern and my fabric – a nice green chambray from the Village Haberdashery – is on order. I’ve got some cotton in my stash I can use for a [hopefully] wearable muslin, so here we go. Wish me luck.

One thought on “Slowalong…

Leave a Reply

