A work in progress or a distraction?

 

Granny ripple blanket fullIs there something in the water at the moment? I had grand plans for the Easter weekend. I was going to make the box pleat skirt out of the new Great British Sewing Bee book and a Sewaholic Hollyburn skirt. I was really looking forward to giving my new sewing machine (a Janome CXL301 that I may just call Bessie) a good road test, but it never happened. Last Thursday I learned that yet another friend is pregnant, so I dropped everything apart from my crochet hooks and hot footed it to John Lewis for a quick yarn fix.

We don’t know what kind of baby is on the way just yet, so no clothes can be made just yet (though I would LOVE it to be a girl cos I’d like to make the Swingset cardigan again). So, it’s a neutral coloured baby blanket for the time being.

A few months ago I blogged about granny ripples. This seemed like the perfect chance to give it a whirl. I used the super clear and super useful tutorial over on the Lazy Hobbyhopper blog to get started and having got the first couple of rows out of the way I’m pleased to say it’s all pretty easy. I suppose that figures – if a granny square is super simple, it’s really not that hard to make the leap to a granny ripple.

I’ve been making up the pattern as I’ve been going along. At the moment it looks fairly random, but I can assure you that I have been trying to think about it! I’ve got four balls each of three colours (I’m using Debbie Bliss Cotton DK) and I want to make sure I’m using them all equally and evenly. I’m doing two rows of each colour in each set of six rows, and once I get to the middle I’m going to repeat the pattern backwards so that it looks vaguely symmetrical. It should work (fingers crossed!) and I’m looking forward to seeing the finished result.

Let's see that in close up

Let’s see that in close up

There are two things I’m not so sure about with this blanket. The first is the cotton used – it is soft, but it’s not really snuggly enough for a cot blanket. I think it’s going to be more useful as a more hard wearing buggy/pram blanket. My other issue is one of my own making. One of the problems with making up crochet patterns as you go along is the sheer number of ends to sew in. I am NOT looking forward to this little sewing session and it’s probably the biggest threat to this being finished by the time the baby shower comes round (end of July). Let’s see if I can keep the momentum going…

 

So. Many. Ends. Aaaarrrgghh.

So. Many. Ends. Aaaarrrgghh.

One thought on “A work in progress or a distraction?

Leave a Reply

