Please send insulin…

Goo. Goo. Goo. Goo. Goo. GOOOOOO.

Goo. Goo. Goo. Goo. Goo. GOOOOOO.

I realise I am a week late to be making creme egg brownies, but there are only so many Easter eggs a girl can eat in one sitting. So, after a week of stuffing my face with chocolate, I’m carrying on the party with something even more likely to cause diabetes.

Now, I am a creme egg fiend. From Boxing Day to about May every year, I can usually be found taking advantage of Sainsburys’ three for a pound offer. And then they reduce them to 10p each so I pretty much ensure that I get my fill until the next Christmas. I’ve never cooked with them though, cos they would never actually make it into a bowl when my mouth is conveniently much closer.

Anyway, this year I’ve learned a bit of restraint and managed to bake up a batch of these little beauties which a colleague of mine spotted on the Woman’s Own website. The recipe is both really easy and ridiculously chocolatey. The only thing that hampered the process was whisking up the eggs and sugar. My electric whisk got lost when I moved in with Chris, so I had to do this by hand which proved to be a lengthy process and quite hard on the arms. Oh well, a bit of exercise before a brownie can’t really be a bad thing.

So how did they turn out?
Pretty well! The finished brownies are suitably gooey and rich, so one at a time is more than enough. Chris and I both tried one this afternoon when they had not long been out of the oven and they fell apart a bit in slicing, so they’re currently in the fridge to try and firm them up.

I may make them again, if only for the mixture. As I often say, one of the best things about being a grown up is not having to share the leftover mixture with ANYONE, and I took full advantage of the spoon and the bowl this afternoon.

Creme egg brownies spoon

Chocolatey spoon selfie

7 thoughts on “Please send insulin…

Leave a Reply

