A new look for me and a new look for the blog

I made a mistake. In an idle moment today I started playing around with my blog’s theme. I hit the wrong button and ended up changing it to something I wasn’t happy with. Permanently. My old WordPress theme (Bueno) has been discontinued and now I can’t work out how to get it back. So, after a bit of searching and messing around with colours and stuff, I’m now using Sorbet. It’s ok, but I liked Bueno…

Anyway, I’ve been doing a bit of thinking recently, and before you ask, yes it did hurt my head a little. I find events in the sewing blogging community, like Me Made May, really inspirational what with all the creativity and so many pretty dresses out there. I don’t have anywhere near enough handmade clothes to take part (even if you include that Zinnia muslin with the horrible zip. I think wearing that would set me into a permanent rage), but I’d like to set some plans in motion to build my self-sewn wardrobe so I can get a bit more experience in making my own clothes, and maybe take part in Me Made May next year. In the meantime I’ll be watching, and most probably gushing, at all the loveliness over the interwebs in the next month.

Now, I’m not suggesting that I’m going to make a whole bunch of clothes just because I can; I actually do need much of what I’m planning to sew. I’ve split my plans into two – a work wardrobe and casual clothes for the summer. It’ll likely take the rest of my life, but as long as I make a reasonable dent in it, I won’t mind too much.

Workwear

The Afternoon Blouse - I prefer the rounded button detail to the pointy one

The Afternoon Blouse – I prefer the rounded button detail to the pointy one

My work wardrobe needs updating so badly. At the moment it’s a mish mash of stuff I’ve bought without really thinking about it. I’ve got one grey H&M skirt that’s been in constant rotation since about 2008, it’s now looking a bit tatty… It’s perhaps time to send it to the nearest charity shop, but that would leave me without an office-appropriate skirt. I’ve also got a lot of outfits, but not many items that can be mixed and matched. It’s time to get creative.

I’ve been keeping an eye on Colette Patterns’ Wardrobe Architect series recently, and while I haven’t been actively participating, it’s got me thinking about colours and styles and how they work so you end up looking a bit more put together. I wear a lot of jewel colours – I love emerald green at the moment, and red and purple are high on my list. That’s great, but I could do with some neutrals in there to swap in and out. So, I’m going to be making clothes in: red, emerald green, navy blue, black, cream, white and beigey/taupe colours. I think I’ve got a lot of purple already, so I’m going to leave that to one side for the time being. Working within these colours, I’m going to keep patterns to a minimum and only use them for tops.

The Hollyburn skirt - a versatile pattern, because a girl can never have too many skirts. And it's got great pockets.

The Hollyburn skirt – a versatile pattern, because a girl can never have too many skirts. And it’s got great pockets.

Style-wise I need to be quite smart at work – not suit-smart, but not jeans and t-shirt casual either (unless it’s dress down Friday of course). I think clothes with a bit of shape tend to suit me. I like an A-line skirt and I love the shape (and fit) of my Anna dress, but I also like a floaty top I can tuck into a waistband.

WIth all that in mind, my work sewing plans are:

  • The Afternoon Blouse by Jennifer Lauren Vintage
  • Two Hollyburn skirts by Sewaholic – one in black, one in red
  • A tulip skirt from Sew Over It in navy blue (I am booked in for the class at the end of May)
  • Sencha blouse by Colette Patterns
  • Two Anna dresses – one boat neck, one v-neck, both knee length, just because I want to do more super-neat French seams. I’m obsessed.
  • Thurlow trousers by Sewaholic – I’ve never made trousers before so this will be an experience!
  • Belcarra blouse by Sewaholic in a variety of prints and colours

And I’ll top this up with some shop-bought cardigans and I’ll finally get my blue blazer dry cleaned.

The Sencha blouse - you can't tell from this photo, but it's got buttons right down the back, which will give me the chance to test my new machine's button skills.

The Sencha blouse – you can’t tell from this photo, but it’s got buttons right down the back, which will give me the chance to test my new machine’s button skills.

Summer casual
At the weekend I’m more of a jeans and t-shirt kind of person. I don’t see this changing all that much this summer, though I’d like to wear more dresses outside work. With that in mind, my summer sewing list is all about making sure I have enough casual tops to go with shorts. I’ll make a few dresses, but I don’t want to waste my time making loads and then never wearing them. In terms of colour palette, as long as it suits me and goes with my [mostly blue] shorts, anything goes – print, plains etc. So here’s the list:

The Miette - super simple, but super cute!

The Miette – super simple, but super cute!

So as you can see,  in the next few weeks I’m going to be a) very busy and b) putting a lot of money Sewaholic’s way.

This weekend I will be making the Afternoon blouse and hopefully making a start on a Hollyburn skirt. Watch out for the pictures in a future post!

One thought on “A new look for me and a new look for the blog

  1. fallfromgrace349 says:

    I really love the hollyburn skirt, looks realing flattering. I saw the miette skirt on the tilly and buttons site too and thought about giving it a go. I will let you try first and find out how easy it is as Im useless! 🙂

Leave a Reply

