What to do, what to do?

Ok guys, I tripped and fell into John Lewis today and in the process accidentally sort of on purpose bought two metres of this rather garishly delightful cotton. Question is, what to do with it?

It wouldn’t be my usual choice of colours, but it puts me in mind of something my granny might have picked if she was on acid. She was Scottish and really into all the bagpipes and tartan and shortbread (think Supergran) but I’m not sure she would have put pink and orange together. It was on sale though.

Anyway, dear readers, I’m up for a challenge. What should I make with this lovely stuff? All suggestions considered!

20140702-231037-83437963.jpg

In other news
I have been doing much sewing recently and I have a lot to write about. I have some time on a train tomorrow so I may knock a few blog drafts out. Only thing is, they won’t include Moneta Mk. II cos I haven’t finished it. My progress has stalled because I’m not convinced that the standard foot for my machine won’t stretch the fabric out of shape. I can’t alter the feed tension on my machine (I have read the manual from cover to cover and no instructions on it), so I have decided to invest in a walking foot to ensure the fabric goes through evenly. I’ll get straight on to it once it arrives – just a shame I couldn’t properly participate in the sewalong. 😦

6 thoughts on “What to do, what to do?

  1. Caroline Joynson says:

    Its a shame you couldn’t finish your Moneta for the sew-along but better to have a properly finished dress rather than rushing it.
    Now… as for the tartan-on-acid fabric I have lots of ideas for you:
    Home – laundry bag or wash-bag, cushion covers, backing for a quilt, bag lining
    Fashion – PJ’s, Tilly’s Picnic Blanket skirt, summery sorbetto….
    I too stumbled into John Lewis haberdashery department the other week and happened upon the fabric sale. Needless to say I ended up with some rather crazy multi-coloured viscose and a black and white grid-type printed cotton.

    • jocala42 says:

      I note that all their anniversary cotton is still full price 😦

      Thanks for the suggestions – I am feeling the skirt, esp since I’ve just worked out buttonholes on my machine! The tartan pattern sits on the bias too so it’d look pretty funky! Cheers!

      • Caroline says:

        Yes, I was hoping the Lucienne Day fabric would be reduced but alas not to be. There was only a limited selection left when I was there last weekend. I got 2 metres of a blue design with black abstract-y shapes, not doing too well considering I have signed up for the Summer stash bust! (I was always going to buy some and I don’t think it would still be there in September when the self-imposed fabric buying ban has finished) you can see I’m trying to convince myself I haven’t cheated – I’m only kidding myself….
        I think your tartan-on-acid will look fab as a Tilly picnic blanket skirt x
        What buttons will you choose? Lots of colour options available to you.

      • jocala42 says:

        Hehehe! I can see how that could be a problem! I keep spotting beautiful fabric and would most probably struggle with a fabric ban – so I’ll forgive you a slight transgression!!

        Not sure re buttons. My main issue at the moment is interfacing. I’m out and have limited time to get down to the shops to buy some at the moment. When I eventually make it to a haberdashers I’ll have a good squizz!

Leave a Reply

