Boxing clever

Just a quick one today, since this skirt is a repeat make (I am, however, on a roll with my back(b)log – well done me!). It’s another box pleated skirt from the latest Great British Sewing Bee book, this time in some funky honey bee fabric I got on that fabric splurge a few months ago.

Now that I’ve worked out which way round to put the waistband and insert the zip properly, this one went together really easily. I had a go at pattern matching on the side seams, but let’s just say I need a bit more work on my skills there. I think I could probably get away with a slightly smaller size or a couple of belt loops. This one is fine, but sits on my hips and can move about around my waist a bit. I won’t be making it again this year, as I think it’s more of a summer skirt, but it’s something to bear in mind for next time.

Non-pose

Non-pose

These photos were taken outside the Duomo in Siena, which, FYI, is GORGEOUS. I’d highly recommend it for a visit. The whole town is really pretty, there’s plenty to see (we went up all the tall buildings we could for the view) and the main piazza is a lovely place to sit and watch the world go by. While Chris was taking these photos there was a girl to my right posing for all she was worth. I couldn’t decide whether she was actually modelling some clothes or if she was just a bit weird (there was a photographer too so I’ll give her the benefit of the doubt). We saw something similar in Pisa, so I wonder if model-posing next to tourist attractions is an Italian thing? Anywho, I don’t need any more help in looking like/being an idiot so this is my standard Jo pose.

And here are some pics from the Duomo.

From the front...

From the front…

 

From the side...

From the side…

 

And from the top! That would be my lovely photographer in front of the camera for once.

And from the top! That would be my lovely photographer in front of the camera for once.

Leave a Reply

