Christmas scrap bustin’

I am not feeling at my most effervescent today, and it is all self-inflicted. I should be working on my Lilou dress but with last night’s wine having killed a good chunk of my brain cells I have a feeling it could all go horribly, horribly wrong. I should probably admit defeat on today and have a nice nap on the sofa, but instead I’ve been making Christmas cards. Crafting as a hangover cure… I wouldn’t say it’s the best idea I’ve ever had but it seems to have worked out.

Materials 2

Anyway, do you remember the crocheted snowflakes I made earlier this year? I found a use for them other than covering the house in them! They’re going on my Christmas cards this year and they’re easily removable so that the recipient can hang them on their tree. I found some starry night sky fabric scraps in my stash and bought some blank cards from Paperchase and got on to some cutting and sticking.

I bought my fabric glue in the craft/fabric shop in Balham, which looks like it’s doing a roaring trade in the run up to Christmas. I’ve never used it before and I can’t really tell the difference between that and standard PVA glue, but the bottle is really easy to use and it’s got a fancy nozzle so you can spread it out rather than getting it all over your hands (though having said that, peeling dried PVA glue off your fingers has to be one of the most satisfying things ever). Anyway, I cut out some squares of fabric with my pinking shears, stuck it on the card and then stuck the snowflakes down with some sellotape. A nice message in gold pen and they’re done! Which is probably as much thought as I can put into anything right now.

The finished cards - winging their way to Christmas trees soon

The finished cards – winging their way to Christmas trees soon

I have some more snowflakes to block so I’ll be making more of these in the run up to Christmas. They’re a bit labour intensive if you think about it but I’ve been making snowflakes on and off all year with no real plan in mind, so this feels more like a happy accident. The snowflakes themselves are nice little projects to make – I can make a small one in about 15 minutes, whereas a larger one takes about an hour – perfect for TV crafting.

Right. I am off for a nap and some Berocca before I start complaining again.

Stupid wine.

A card in close up, with my Lilou dress in the background, taunting me.

A card in close up, with my Lilou dress in the background, taunting me.

6 thoughts on “Christmas scrap bustin’

Leave a Reply

