What does the future hold?

Source: Shutterstock

Source: Shutterstock

Or what will 2015 hold, if we’re being specific here. Blogland seems to be agog with New Year’s resolutions and since I like a good bandwagon, I thought I’d hop right on and join the party.

I think I’ve achieved a lot this year. I’m certainly a lot more confident with my sewing than I used to be, and I can now insert a zip without throwing my projects across the room (aaaand anger management is a transferable skill. Win.). It’s definitely helped that I now live with Chris and can therefore dedicate more time to making my own clothes. However, there’s a lot out there that I want to learn! And some gaps in my wardrobe to fill!

Reading all the resolutions on other blogs got me thinking about what I want to achieve in 2015. I thought about sticking it in a big long list, but that’ll just set me up for a fall. In broad terms, this is what I want to do sewing-wise next year.

  • Selfless sewing, cos I’m nice
  • A big project
  • Clear my UFOs (thankfully this list is short)
  • Make a dress for a September wedding in Italy
  • Plug the gaps in my work wardrobe, focusing on separates (but with a dress or two!!)
  • Plug the gaps in my casual wardrobe, focusing on basics
  • Pick up some new skills, like quilting, mastering knits and fitting properly
  • Trying new patterns

Some of this I can tick off quite quickly (I hope). My mum’s birthday is coming up in February and she doesn’t know it yet, but she wants a quilt. That ticks off the selfless sewing, big project and new skills in one easy (again, I hope) quilt. I’m also going to a class at Sew Over It in January where I’ll make a pair of Ultimate Trousers. As I have such chunky legs I find it hellishly difficult to find trousers that fit me nicely around the leg without a compensating gape around the waist. I’m hoping that this class will set me up with a badass pair of kecks, and also tick the new skills and work wear boxes. Boom.

I’ve spelled out more specifically what I’d like to sew in 2015 here. It’s not a fully formed list, but let’s see how I get on with it. Maybe at the end of 2015 I’ll have completed it? Maybe by 31 December next year pigs in flight will be a common sight in our skies?

In more general terms, I’d like to join in a bit more. I’d like to take part in a couple more sewalongs and blogging events like Me Made May. It’d also be cool to go to a meet up and meet some new people! None of my IRL friends sew, so it’d be really nice to join in, make some friends and probably lose a chunk of my salary to fabric shopping on Goldhawk Road.

And finally, on a non-sewing note, my personal New Year’s resolution for 2015 is to use up all my moisturiser. Every single year I get smellies for Christmas and they always include moisturiser, and every single year they gather dust until I either move house or have a massive clear-out or both. I just can’t be bothered to use it in the morning. But no more. I WILL have hydrated skin in 2015.

Not shown - copious amounts of hand cream on my desk at work.

Not shown – copious amounts of hand cream on my desk at work.

And on that note, thank you for reading my corner of the internet in 2014. I hope you’ve all had a wonderful Christmas and that 2015 brings you everything you wish for.

Jo x

7 thoughts on “What does the future hold?

    • Jo Laycock says:

      I think it’s the thing to do for 2015. I’ve seen so many nice reviews of the Ultimate Trousers (pattern and class) – really looking forward to soaking up the advice! Do you have any other plans for next year?

  1. Clarinda Kaleidoscope says:

    I did the Ultimate trousers workshop a couple of months ago – you will definitely come away with a pair which fit you but here is my tip – DO remember to add your adjustments to the pattern for when you make up your next pair at home – oh how I wish I had done that. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

