Mimi mark 2

My second Mimi was also my first make of 2015. I started it on New Year’s Eve and completed it the following evening, tired but not hungover (we went up to bed at 12.45. Crazy kids) and in the mood for achieving something with my day. The morning was a bit of a write off – we had breakfast at lunchtime and spent some time arsing around, so by the time we got home I was itching to get back to the blouse and just get it finished.

Daft fabric. Wearing it with pride.

Daft fabric. Wearing it with pride.

To be fair, even if I did have a New Year hangover, this fabric would probably have cured it for me. It is rather daft. It’s a Cotton and Steel cotton lawn that I picked up at the Village Haberdashery in that fabric splurge I had in the summer. Rather shamefully it’s been sitting in my stash since then – I’d always intended to use it for a Mimi, but just never got round to it. I was so pleased with Mimi number 1 – it was time to dig this stuff out and get on with number 2.

This one came together almost without issue. I paid more attention to the pattern direction so it runs the same way down the front. I figured that since the fabric’s called Gnome Pants the legs should be pointing down. It didn’t quite work on the collar, but meh, what are you going to do? The only other problem I had was with the top buttonhole again. Perhaps I am a bad workman, but I am so blaming my tools with this one. Everything was attached properly and working fine, but when I tried to do that top buttonhole it went came up short. Luckily it’s not too bad – it just takes a bit of wiggling to get the button through. It’s not like you see the buttonhole itself when you’re wearing it; it’s just annoying that the machine stuffed up.

On Elsie from the front - A-OK on the yoke, bit weird on the collar. Given the daft fabric I don't think it's out of place.

On Elsie from the front – A-OK on the yoke, bit weird on the collar. Given the daft fabric I don’t think it’s out of place.

Anyway, I still love the Mimi blouse. I think the print is kind of mid-20th Century retro, so when it’s made up in this pattern it reminds me of something Betty or Megan Draper might wear on a day off, perhaps with some brightly coloured capri pants or something (I am currently re-watching Mad Men). That said, I probably couldn’t get away with this one at work, so it’s for casual wear only.

I can’t get enough of this pattern, and I stuck some fabric on pre-order (more Cotton and Steel lawn) with another Mimi in mind. When flicking through Twitter the other day I spotted this lovely longer-sleeved version by Threadbunny, which looks like a nice way of ringing the changes. I bought the fabric before spotting this and now my next version is going to look like a carbon copy! Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery so I daresay I’ll get over it.

Right, I am hungry so I am off to see what the freezer can provide me with for my tea. Evening all!

Chris told me to look as if my dog had died for this one. I just look confused.

Chris told me to look as if my dog had died for this one. I just look confused.

12 thoughts on “Mimi mark 2

  1. Beth says:

    This looks like such a fun top! I love it! And I don’t think it’s bad at all that the direction of the print differs on the collar. I actually like it like that 🙂

  2. springystitches says:

    I love the quirky fabric! I’ve never really taken much notice of the Mimi blouse before, although I have made some of the other patterns in Tilly’s book. But after seeing you Mimi mark 1 and 2 I am really excited to make one this now! Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

    • Jo Laycock says:

      Aw thanks, sweet of you to say so! Give it a go though – there’s a lot that you can do with it to make it different. I’ve seen loads around the internet and they’re all pretty unique. 🙂

  3. Caroline says:

    Cool love the funky print – definitely the kind of fabric an art teacher should have in her life don’t you agree?!
    I need to make the Mimi at some point this year – your two versions look awesome. Think my fav is version 2!

    • Jo Laycock says:

      Do it do it do it!!! It’s EXACTLY the kind of thing today’s art teacher should have in her wardrobe. Looking forward to seeing what fabric you choose – it’s a great way to show off a crazy print!

Leave a Reply

