Me Made May week two

So this week I am feeling a little bit pleased with myself. For once, not paying attention has actually paid off! As you might remember my pledge was for me-made garments four days out of seven. Well, due to a miscalculation (i.e. not keeping count), I’ve actually managed five days out of the last week. SMASHED IT. That’s a whole 25% more. So without further ado, here’s this week’s gallery of bad photography!

2.1

Saturday: my blue Mathilde at Shakespeare’s Globe. Having just dropped Chris off at Heathrow (he is in San Francisco for two weeks for work), I dashed across London to meet my bestie and see the Merchant of Venice. Then we went back to hers, had a curry, watched Mad Men and spent some quality time with my goddaughter. How did you spend your Saturday night, Jo? Well, I danced for the amusement of a toddler and then killed some brain cells watching In the Night Garden. I now know what Ninky Nonk is and this bothers me.  Still: lots of cuddles with Anne and that is a good thing.

2.2

Sunday: PYJAMA DAY! These are my Margot PJs and I spent a very pleasant day lounging around in them and doing very little indeed.

2.3

Monday: I worked from home and managed to get myself out of my PJs and into my bird print Scout tshirt. And hopefully that’s the only mirror selfie of the month.

2.4

Tuesday: Back in the office where I asked my lovely colleague Kim to take the photo for me. That’s me telling her to turn the camera around so the jpeg would turn out the right way round on my computer. Turns out I was wrong and I still had to flip it round. Anyway, this is one of my Hollyburns and my Afternoon Blouse. And do you see that purple bag on my desk? It’s got some lovely fabric in it. Caroline sent me an online discount for Liberty lawn, and I thought it would be rude not to. More on that another time…

2.5

Wednesday: We got evacuated for a fire drill and this is me at the muster point wearing one of my box pleat skirts from the second Great British Sewing Bee book. I do like this skirt, but it could do with some belt loops as it does tend to fly around my waist quite a bit. It was always a little bit big, so it’s never stayed put. After my team and I had shown our faces at the muster point we went off to get some coffee (we had time – there are 33 floors in my building and it takes at least an hour to get back in after an evacuation). Who should we see on the street but Jamie and Proudlock from Made in Chelsea! No pictures, cos let’s face it, the programme is awful, but it made that fire drill pretty notable!

I’m still quite enjoying the whole challenge aspect of this. I can see that over the next couple of weeks I’m going to have to be a bit more creative with work outfits, or repeat a few items. To be honest, repeating doesn’t really bother me all that much – it says a lot about the clothes I want to wear and gives an indication of the kind of stuff I should be concentrating on in the future.

I’ve noticed a couple of other things too:

  • I’ve put on a bit of weight. Not a lot, but enough to make some of my clothes a teensy bit tight, which makes them a little less enjoyable to wear (apart from that box pleat skirt, which was always a little big). I’ve been doing a lot more exercise and trying to eat more healthily recently, so hopefully I will not have to alter anything. Cos really, ain’t nobody got time for that.
  • Judging by what’s in my wardrobe, I definitely prefer separates to dresses. I just can’t work out whether that’s because I like the versatility separates provide, or whether I can’t be bothered sorting out the fit on dresses. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good dress, but I think I’ve only got three that I’ve made myself, one of which is sitting in the mending pile, possibly never to see the light of day again…
  • For the purposes of this challenge, I’m quite lucky that they’re quite relaxed about clothes at work. I try to sew things that would do for work and leisure, and I will mix them in and out according to my mood. I do have some things that I wear for work that I wouldn’t wear at the weekend, but there’s a lot of casual clothing in my me-made wardrobe that can be smartened up for work. Back to those separates again – it must be something to do with the versatility factor.

Anyway, that’s me for the week. Hope your Me Made May is going well too!

6 thoughts on “Me Made May week two

  1. Clarinda Kaleidoscope says:

    What a good round up. I am really enjoying getting a little glimpse into people’s lives – it’s good to see the clothes ‘at work’. First repeat for me today so pleased I managed a fortnight.

    • Jo Laycock says:

      Thanks! Those fire drills are a pain – we work on the 26th floor so it takes ages to get down the stairs, ages hanging around outside then ages queuing for the lift to get back in again. A bit of café action is the only thing for it!

  2. Caroline says:

    I’m with you on the dresses versus separates. It seems I am fully in the separates count at the last count – might try a dress next week….
    Looking forward to seeing your Liberty score!

    • Jo Laycock says:

      I do like a dress and I enjoy making them but you have so many more options with separates!

      The Liberty fabric almost didn’t make it home – I left the bag in the gym changing room and only realised when I was on the platform at Warren Street! Had to run back for it, all worried, but luckily it was where I’d left it!

Leave a Reply

