Let’s have an interim review (and a Me Made May pledge)!

Hola! Now that we’re a few months into 2016, it’s probably a good time to take a look at how I’m getting on with my New Year’s resolutions. Did I set myself up for a fail, or am I bossing them like a true achiever? Let’s have an interim review!

My sewing resolution was to clear my fabric stash out. So far I don’t think I’m doing too badly. I certainly haven’t bought anywhere near as much fabric as I normally have by this time of year, and I’ve been steadily sewing through what I already have in. I’ve relaxed my rules a little bit – I don’t buy party-type fabrics impulsively, and with five weddings this year I do need at least a few outfits (with some recycling – Facebook pics be damned!).

The only time I’ve broken this resolution has been a piece of cotton lawn when I went on a fabric meet up with some lovely Fold Line users a couple of months back. I set myself a strict budget, which was primarily for wedding outfit fabric, so really, that cotton lawn was a bonus for being really good (ahem). It’ll be a sleeveless Sew Over It vintage shirt dress come summer. There’s another meet up at Walthamstow market at the end of the month, and I’ll be making sure I don’t go nuts at that either.

Cotton lawn - resolution breaker

This fabric made me break a resolution!

Elsewhere, I’m doing well with flossing my teeth, managing to do it most nights before bed. My dentist will be proud. I’ve been rubbish at preparing my lunch though. I just about manage to grab some fruit and yoghurts and things before I leave the house in the morning, but never anything more. Need to get that one sorted, cos really, it’s just laziness on my part.

My Me Made May pledge

In other news, it’s nearly time for Me Made May! I enjoyed taking part last year, and I learned a lot from it (separates rather than dresses etc), so I’m excited to be joining in again in 2016. Here’s my pledge:

I, Jo of Stuff Jo Has Made (WordPress/Instagram), sign up as a participant of Me Made May ’16. I endeavour to wear at least one item of me-made clothing for five days out of seven for the duration of May 2016. I will also endeavour to complete the Sew Over It Francine jacket that has been shamefully sitting in my UFO pile for too long.

I’m really looking forward to this one – lately I’ve been making clothes that I really enjoy wearing, so it should be fun. Can’t wait to see what everyone else wears and maybe discover some new blogs too! I’ll be following and contributing to the hashtag on Instagram (#MMMay16) and hopefully doing some weekly round up posts on here (though those fell by the wayside last year – mainly due to a lack of a photographer).

Yay, joining in!

Leave a Reply

