Seam ripper revelation

I have a funny relationship with Pinterest – I like being inspired by other people’s projects, but sometimes I don’t feel it quite knows what I’m interested in. It thinks I’ll like to see a hideous crocheted child’s cardigan modelled on a doll (shudder) because I once searched for kids’ clothes. Or it suggests patterns for tops to pin to my dresses board. But every so often it’ll teach me something new.

Like how to use a seam ripper! I’ve been going through life unpicking my seams stitch by stitch, but this video that appeared on my Pinterest timeline just threw all that out the window. Turns out I need to turn the seam ripper round and just slice those stitches in a single motion. MIND. BLOWN.

This video has also taught me that really very nice seam rippers exist out there. Seam rippers that look like posh fountain pens rather than the crappy biros you get in Argos! Might just have to add one to my Christmas list…

What great sewing tips have you stumbled upon recently?

9 thoughts on “Seam ripper revelation

  1. thenaughtybun says:

    And here I thought everyone used their seam rippers like that. You need to be a bit careful, though. It is a bit too easy to cut the fabric when you go fast. You can guess how I know…

    Something I recently stumbled across, was how to sew a hand-rolled hem Hermés style. Need to try that on the next silk project.

      • thenaughtybun says:

        If you’re machine sewing it, yes. And it is definitely a point to then he first, sew side seams later. Or at least save one seam that crosses the hem until the hem is done, because it it dreadfully fiddly to get started in the middle of a ring. Of coures, if you do it often I am sure you will develop a technique to get it done. But I wasn’t thinking of machine sewing, Hermés scarves are hemmed by hand. Look it up on youtube, those master hemmers know how to do it efficiently!

    • Jo Laycock says:

      I’ve only been seeing for about five years but this never would have occurred to me if I hadn’t seen it done – I guess this is the problem when you’re self taught! 😀

  2. Helena says:

    I saw this video a few years back and I didn’t know how to “properly” use a seam ripper either. That said, I sometimes go back to my old ways since it feels less risky. Using the method above I have sometimes ripped the fabric, especially if it’s thin and frays easily.

Leave a Reply

