Next level scrap busting

Hello from the living room! It’s chaos in the flat this weekend – we’re gearing up to put it on the market so we’re having a few jobs done to make it look a bit more presentable. As I speak there’s a builder outside installing a new front gate. The kitchen, where I usually sew, is currently a bomb site with all the building materials spread out, so I’ve been sewing in the living room today, in amongst all the furniture from the study which is being replastered.

Anyway, you know when you have some fabric that you love so much you can’t bear to chuck any of it away? I had that with some home décor fabric I got from Ikea last week . I got two metres with the intention of making some cushion covers so that everything vaguely matches in the living room (those estate agent photos are on my mind!). I won’t bore you with the cushion covers, but I ended up with loads of little scraps that I was determined to use.

cushions

I don’t normally put all my cushions on one sofa but the living room is such a mess at the moment this is the only clear space there is!

Ever since I’ve been with Chris he’d been using dumbbell weights to prop the door open. It’s a bit of a cliché to have unused exercise equipment lying around the house, but it’s not the best impression to give to potential buyers. This month’s Love Sewing magazine has a pattern for a doorstop that’s basically a cuboid with and handle. It only takes a small amount of fabric, so perfect for scraps.  It has an outer shell with a zip in the bottom, then you fill a lining bag with 1.5kgs of rice to create the weight.

bottom-zip

The zip.

Of the scraps I had, I could only do the handles in single pieces – all the other pieces had to be sewn together to fit the pattern. It was a bit of a jigsaw with at least one of the pattern pieces using five separate scraps. I don’t think it matters all that much with the blue and white fabric as the print is random enough for the joins to be largely unnoticeable.

patchwork-pieces

Dedication to using my scraps, right there.

The instructions were well written and easy to follow. I had a brief brain fart with inserting the side panels, but once I’d got round that, it all made sense. In short, the pattern markings are important as they tell you where to turn corners! I did ignore the instructions for the lining bag though. It suggested filling it with rice/dried kidney beans/gravel before sealing it with some hand stitching. For a bag that no-one is EVER going to see, I wasn’t going to bother making it look pretty, so I just did a line of machine stitching at the top and stuffed the lining into the outer. Some things just aren’t worth bothering with, are they?

lining-bag

One of the two lining bags I made. The other one is also a bit of a patchwork affair.

I ended up making two of these, but I only really had enough fabric for one and a half, so I had to raid my scraps some more. Luckily I had some lightweight blue denim which works quite nicely, and the inner bags were also from the scraps bin (you might recognise it from the laundry bag I made the other week). It’s all good value for money. I spent £10 on the fabric, £1.98 on the zips, and £1.80 on three kilos of rice – I’d say less than £14 for five cushion covers and two doorstops is pretty good!

blue-and-white

Number 1 matches those cushions nicely.

They’re both now in situ in the living room and bedroom, and I’m happy that the living room is a bit more tied together (OK, matchy-matchy). Now, does anyone want to buy a flat in Colliers Wood?

denim-and-patches

Number 2 is more of a mish-mash.

5 thoughts on “Next level scrap busting

Leave a Reply

