On the cutting table: August

August is a funny month, isn’t it? We’re expecting a heatwave here this week and while I’m melting in 35-degree heat, I’m starting to think about sewing for the autumn. I haven’t quite got summer dresses out of my mind just yet (we’re going to Hawaii for Christmas, so it makes sense to plan now), so my plans for August are kind of half and half.

This month I’m also looking for some quick wins as we’ll be having visitors! Both sets of parents will be visiting towards the end of August, so I’ll be spending some quality time with them. I’m also expecting/hoping that I’ll have my work permit by the end of the month, so I will need to start my job hunt in earnest. Anyway, all that means that I won’t have a great deal of time for long and involved sewing projects. So, my picks this month include some quick and easy (fingers crossed) makes, and one that may take a while longer.

  • First up, I’ll be feeding my shirt dress obsession with the Colette Penny dress (version 2, the sleeveless one with the belt). As the bodice is a bit more fitted than I’m used to, I’m going to do a toile for once. I’ve got some gorgeous tropical cotton lawn coming soon in the post, and I’m hoping that it will be a good transitional piece that I can throw a cardi over when the weather eventually cools.
  • As a compare and contrast, I’ve got a Sew Over It Penny cut out in this floaty feather/bird print rayon from Harts Fabrics. I love my red one that I made in July, and now I want MORE! Hanging and hemming aside, I’m hoping to make this one up pretty quickly because the fabric is gorgeous and I want to wear it yesterday.

Birds of a feather rayon

  • As you may have noticed, I mostly sew with wovens. That’s fine, but I’d like to expand my skills a bit and sew with knits. I’m going to have a go at the Tilly and the Buttons Agnes top, which is a pattern I brought over to the US with me and should be good for layering. It’s only four pattern pieces so how much trouble could I get into?!
  • Finally, with an eye on potential work wear, I’ll also be making the Simple Sew Shannon trousers, another pattern which made the trip across the pond. They’re wide-legged sailor-style pants and I’ve mined my stash for some grey suiting for office/interview friendly wear.

Patterns

I’m also working on some changes to the blog – some of which you may have already noticed. More on that later this month…

3 thoughts on “On the cutting table: August

  1. PsychicSewerKathleen says:

    I love your floating feather rayon! Gorgeous! It’ll make a lovely new Penny for you 🙂 I’ve been sewing wovens all year myself – I keep thinking and at some level CRAVING to return to knits soon but a new woven grabs my eye and I’m off and running on another shirt/tunic again. I’ve been also studying hard to get my fit right and once I’ve mastered that in wovens I think I’ll feel more ready to turn my fit challenges to knit then 🙂

Leave a Reply

