I. AM WEARING. SPACE PANTS!

Do you ever get the urge to make something ridiculous, maybe based on something you’ve seen on TV, or in a magazine, just for shits n’ giggles? I mostly started this little project because of something I saw on the internet a couple of months ago. Seeing Peter Dinklage from Game of Thrones sing about his space pants on Saturday Night Live appealed directly to the dafter side of my sense of humour, and I knew that I had to make some of my own.

Now, I’m sensible/conservative (small C) enough that I’m not going to make space pants for everyday wear. I’m really enjoying running at the moment but I’ve struggled to find ready-to-wear leggings that fit me properly. If they fit round the waist, they’re see-through on the hips/bum. If they fit round the hips, then they fall down because they’re not tight enough on the waist. It’s not a good look and, more importantly, it just isn’t comfortable. I think the Helen’s Closet Avery Leggings are the answer to my issues.

The pattern is exactly what I was looking for. When stitched together, the rise hits at the widest part of my hips, so all I needed to do was alter the waistband pieces to fit my waist. I made View B, which features a shorter leg and a waistband that hits directly on the waist, rather than the lower rise of View A. I cut an XL in the leg, then blended two sizes down to an M at the waist. They were also a bit too long, so I lopped a few inches off the length so they hit at the ankle.

Front

Sewing these up brought me so much joy. The whole project made me giggle for the daftness of it all. I love it when fabric does that. 

It’s an easy construction, as well. The hardest part was probably inserting the elastic, and that’s mostly because you cut it smaller than the waistband and then stretch as you sew. I’m not used to doing this, but it’s simple enough when you get the hang of it – you just need to remember to stretch both ends as you go. These are tight on the waist but not uncomfortably so, and it means that they are going absolutely nowhere. I’ve tested them out on a run and they DO NOT BUDGE. Exactly what I want in a pair of running leggings.

Waistband

They do look tight around my waist, but I assure you, it is not uncomfortable. 

So anyway, the ridiculous fabric. The Averys call for knit fabric with 70% stretch. I found this stuff on the Harts Fabric website under the Athletic section. They have some fun prints on there – mermaid scales, cats shooting lasers from their eyes – but it was all about the space print for me. Who wouldn’t want a tour of the Solar System on their lower body? I have no idea what the fabric itself is made of, but it sure as hell is not natural. When you cut into it, it produces actual dust, not fibres, and it has a kind of plasticky smell. I doubt it will do much to wick moisture away from my skin on warmer days, and it is getting warmer here in Seattle, so I probably won’t get much use out of them until the autumn. I’ve got another pair cut out in wicking fabric that should see me through the summer.

That said, I LOVE my space pants. They’re the perfect blend of a great fit and silliness. It’s this kind of thing that makes sewing your own clothes such a wonderful gift. You want to make leggings that cover your legs in the cosmos? You can totally do it. Awesome.

Back

3 thoughts on “I. AM WEARING. SPACE PANTS!

    • Jo says:

      Oh I love a bit of Zumba! The last class I went to had us doing dance offs! I’ve never laughed so hard in an exercise class ever!

Leave a comment