On the cutting table: October

September was a busy month, wasn’t it? I went camping, started my job hunt (nothing to report yet) and officially hit my mid-30s. There was plenty going on in the sewing community, too, with #sewphotohop happening on Instagram. I threw Sew My Stash September into the mix and did a shedload of sewing to get rid of some of the extra fabric I’d been hanging onto for too long. I’m just about finished too – I’ve got a couple of Tilly and the Buttons Cleos that are nearly done (more on those, plus a round-up on Sunday), but until then here are my plans for October!

Once I’d finished making a dent in my stash, obviously I went out and bought more fabric. It was my birthday at the end of September and I got a couple of vouchers for fabric shops so who am I to argue with that? In my defence, though, I do have another wedding to go to this month and I have nothing suitable in my wardrobe for an autumn event in the UK. I haven’t spent all of the vouchers and my plans this month are a mix of new and stash fabrics and a UFO.

  • For the wedding I am thinking a pair of three quarter length Winslows (fast becoming a TNT for me) in some black triple crepe I’ve had in my stash for a couple of years.
  • I can’t decide on the top. I know I want to use this wonderful large-scale flamingo print rayon from Harts Fabric but I can’t decide on whether I want to make the Sew Over It Pussy Bow Blouse, their Anderson Blouse or a modified version of the Papercut Kochi Kimono, all of which I own. At the moment I think I’m veering towards the Anderson Blouse, as it looks nice tucked in or not, and I think it’ll work well with the Winslows (again, going for the extra in Poirot look).
Flamingo rayon

It will see an iron before I cut into it. Promise.

What to choose

L-R: Kochi Kimono, Anderson Blouse, Pussy Bow Blouse

 

  • I’m taking part in the Cosy Cardi Challenge on Instagram and since Helen’s Closet was having a sale the other day I snapped up the Blackwood Cardigan. It’ll be in this nice pinky/biscuit knit.
Biscuit knit

The colour looks more grey here but it’s really more of a pinky beige. Biscuit, basically. 

  • I’m going to finish the quilt I started earlier this year. I finished the top back in May just as it was getting hot outside and I couldn’t face the idea of swathing myself in layers of fabric and batting in the heat. It’s time to get it done.
Quilt top unfinished

The quilt top as it stands. It’s going to be awesome when it’s done. I hope.

  • If I have time, I’d like to make a stretchy top too, probably the Coppelia wrap cardigan by Papercut (check out Sarah’s versions here and here – they’re beautiful!). I don’t mind if I don’t get this done – with a trip abroad to contend with I am fully aware that I may prefer to spend time under the duvet instead of at my machine.

 

4 thoughts on “On the cutting table: October

  1. Naomi says:

    Have you made the Anderson before? I ask because I have heard really mixed reviews of this pattern. Love the idea of culottes and a sexy/glam blouse for a wedding – effortless and chic!

Leave a comment